An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

910th Operations Group recognizes their finest Airmen

  • Published
  • By Staff Sgt. Jeffrey Grossi
  • 910th Airlift Wing Public Affairs

The 910th Operations Group announced the Susan Kintz Operations Support Airman and the Major Karl Hoerig Aircrew of the Year Award winners, March 7, 2020. Airmen recognized for these awards embody the legacy of hard work and dedication of both Kintz and Hoerig.

The following Reserve Citizen Airmen received awards:

  • Staff Sgt. Mariela Love, personnel specialist, Susan Kintz Operation Support Airman of the Year
  • Barbara Sawicki, unit deployment manager, Susan Kintz Operation Support Civilian of the Year
  • Capt. Keith Holcomb, Major Karl Hoerig Pilot of the Year
  • Capt. Maren Ferreira, Major Karl Hoerig Co-pilot of the Year
  • Capt. James Kiriazis, Major Karl Hoerig Navigator of the Year
  • Senior Master Sgt. Tim Frease, Major Karl Hoerig Engineer of the Year
  • Staff Sgt. Tyler Messina, Major Karl Hoerig Loadmaster of the Year

Lt. Col. Patrick Sines, Commander of the 910th Operations Support Squadron, said the winners of the Hoerig Aircrew of the Year Award are Reserve Citizen Airmen who show passion for the job and show they are taking care of their fellow Airmen.

“They rose above, they stepped up, they deployed and conducted themselves with incredible professionalism,” said Sines. “We’ve gotten remarks from people not just within the unit but from people who have flown with us saying, ‘The 910th is awesome, the 910th is professional in what they do.’ Many of those Airmen recognized were part of those crews that were commented on.”

The Aircrew of the Year Award is given in Honor of Maj. Karl Hoerig, a decorated combat pilot who carried out over 200 missions in Iraq and Afghanistan. Hoerig was a celebrated member of the 910th Airlift Wing known for his professionalism and enthusiasm. He died tragically in March 2017.

“You can’t have an aircrew award without recognizing your operations support airmen too,” said Lt. Col. Jeffrey Shaffer, the acting commander of the 910th Operations Group. “The voice of Suzy Kintz carries a lot of weight in Ops. We call her our mom. She has really taken care of us from the day we get here till the day we retire. In honor of Suzy, we wanted to recognize the Airmen that perpetuate her enthusiasm and continue to take care of us.”

Kintz served as a military member for 33 years before becoming the resource manager for the Operations Support Group. She is slated to retire in July after serving for nearly 45 years.